About Us

Mental health is an increasingly urgent and significant topic. According to the Hong Kong Mental Morbidity Survey conducted in 2013, the prevalence estimate for common mental disorders among adults between the ages of 16 and 75 is about 13.3%. Of that, the number of new cases of mental health problems diagnosed in the youth population by the public sector is increasing rapidly. Youths are not only susceptible to mental illness, they also encounter specific challenges when seeking help - only about 15% of young people identified with a mental condition have received any form of professional help.

 

Given that mental health is a crucial element of the overall health of a society and that delayed treatment may lead to adverse consequences and serious long-term disabilities, there is a pressing need to understand the psychological and mental health status of young people in Hong Kong in order to find effective health approaches that will aid in the planning of future mental health services.

The study targets 6,000 youths aged between 15 and 24. If you are willing to participate in this study, our researcher will conduct a face-to-face interview with you. The interview process takes approximately 120 to 180 minutes. Assessments on mental health status, family and work, social support, lifestyle, and utilization of mental health services will be carried out.

 

The assessments will be completed during the interview, and the study does not involve any type of experiment or treatment, hence there are no known risks involved in participating in this study. All information obtained is for research purposes only. The questionnaire will be kept anonymous. All relevant documents and electronic archives containing any personal data will be stored in a password-protected file. Participation in this study is voluntary. Participants may decline to answer any questions and have the right to withdraw at any time during the study.

Main Organizer:

HKU_LKS Faculty of Medicine_Department o

Copyright © 2020 All Rights Reserved. The University of Hong Kong.

關於我們

精神健康是非常重要的課題,根據2013年的「香港精神健康調查」報告,年齡介乎16-75歲的成人患有一般常見情緒病的患病率為13.3%。當中,被診斷有精神健康問題的青少年日益增長,他們不僅容易患有精神疾病,而且在求助方面也遇到特別困難,只有約15% 的青少年精神病患者接受相關的精神健康服務。

鑑於精神健康是整體社會健康非常重要的元素,而延遲治療有可能導致不良後果和嚴重的長期殘疾, 我們有迫切的需要了解香港青少年的心理健康狀況,以助找到有效預防及促進心理和精神健康的方法,幫助計劃及進行未來的精神健康服務。

此項研究對象為6000個十五至二十四歲的青少年。如果你願意參與這項研究,研究人員將與你進行一個面談評估,評估過程將需時約120至180分鐘,評估內容包括︰精神健康、生活習慣、工作學業、家庭社會、身心發展及精神健康服務的使用。

評估只作面談,研究並不會牽涉任何實驗或治療。所得一切資料只供研究用途,問卷將會以不記名方式絕對保密,一切個人資料將會存放在一個密碼保護的檔案內,我們亦會妥善儲存有關之文件和電子存檔。參與本研究屬於自願性質,參加者可以拒絕參與,亦有權在研究過程中任何時間退出。

主辦機構:

HKU_LKS Faculty of Medicine_Department o

© 香港大學 2020 版權所有